The Baltimore Block’s long, colorful history began in 1885, when Jacob J. Rosenthal introduced the architectural style of his home Baltimore to the booming railroad town of Atlanta. The 14 original rowhouses were Atlanta’s first rental units, leased on long-term ground leases, and they were some of the most luxurious living quarters of the time, featuring the area’s first central heating system, marble mantels and gaslight fixtures. The location was at what was considered the very northern end of the city.
By 1907, the apartments had lost their luster. Some were abandoned and four were torn down in the 1920s. In the next decade, they got a new life with some modern renovations, and many of the rowhouses were split up into smaller apartments. The Baltimore Block was recognized with placement on the National Register of Historic Places in 1976.
In 1989, the rowhouses were brought under single ownership for the first time, converted to office space, and an L-shaped addition was wrapped around the back and side of the original façade, providing the property with its atrium and lofts. Today, most of the original 1885 structure still stands, with the modern renovations working to preserve the character that makes the Baltimore Block unique, while providing today’s tenants with the features and service they expect.